Organized Journal

Beauty is Not Only a Job, it's an Adventure

Drumrolls: My 11 2011 beauty products

Leave a comment

So 2011 is over, one more year has gone as water runs by, and I am quite happy of this new beginning. Not only because I want several goals to accomplish but because it is the beginning of new changes. 2011 was a year full of experiences and situations that helped me grew up as I never imagined and also a year that brought the best of me. But, enough with the babbling and start with today’s subject, which is me giving you a list of my favorite beauty products for 2011. As you know, “I love me the makeup” and 2011 was no exception for me to find some of my Holy Grail products.

For most products I have both drugstore and high end brands, I am a girl who believes that there are times when you don’t have to pay a ton of fortune for makeup, these past few years drugstore makeup has evolved enormously and a lot of brands are very high quality, sometimes pushing away high end bands.

So first for foundation I have my Almay Truly Lasting Color my sister recommended this foundation because I suffer from oily skin (as well as her), it has SPF 15 and it truly gives me a nice finish, I must say I used this foundation almost all year and it helped me a lot. The second one is the Makeup Forever HD foundation, I got this in august because my graduation was coming and I was getting my pictures taken, those months I suffered from acne because of the weather and I was highly stressed because we were moving and other stuff, so I wanted a product who would make my face radiant for pictures. Let me tell you that this product was worth it for me, it made my face looked like porcelain and like if I was a model jajaja. So I really liked it, I use it for special occasions though I don’t want to run out of it fast.

Second would be Concealer, for drugstore I used two, the Garnier Skin Renew Anti Dark-Circle Roller which is this beautiful light concealer, and for the days where I needed more concealer I used the Hard Candy’s Glamofaluge which is a heavy duty concealer but if you are using this you have to be careful I noticed that a little runs a long way if you use too much it can give you a cakey appearance. For high end I discovered the Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Flawless Wear concealer, ok so this is not that heavy but is not as light either, it has the perfect balance and I love it because it matches me perfectly and covers blemishes as well.

Third product would be Face Powder for drugstore I love the Maybeline  Dream Matte Powder, I love this so much and ask myself why I didn’t discover this before, it is an amazing powder and it really mattifies my skin perfectly. For high end I have the Makeup Forever HD Powder, this is a translucent one and it gives my skin this flawless look and it is more noticeable when I use it altogether with my Makeup forever foundation.

Fourth product would be Face Primer for drugstore I love the Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer I have gone thru several of these bottles and I love it, only that I have to limit the quantity I use in summer because it kind of breaks me out in the nose, so I have to be careful with this product. For High end I use my Makeup Forever HD Primer I actually purchased this sample with the foundation and I still have a lot of product I like it because a little goes a long way and it doesn’t break me out and helps me applying my makeup very easily.

Fifth product is Eye shadow Primer I love the ELF Eyelid primer as drugstore brand, this costs only a dollar and it’s the best dollar I’ve spent in makeup terms. It lives your lids very smooth and helps you in the blending of your shadows. For high end I have the Urban Decay Primer Potion in Eden I love this primer because my eyelids tend to get oily as well so this gives a matte base to my lids and helps shadows stay all day.

Sixth product is Eye shadow Palette’s I have added this category because I am a pro palette girl, I prefer spending money in a palette than in single eye shadow’s, it’s easier for me to pack a palette than several shadows so for drugstore I love me the Wet n’ Wild trios my favorite one is the one called Walking on Eggshells for work this gives me a very pretty neutral eye and it lasts all day (with shadow primer) and also the NYX palettes i love the Nude on Nude I could quite compare it to the next high end product I am talking about and it is the Urban Decay’s Naked Palette I got this for my birthday and I just love it I know it’s expansive but man I love it, the colors just right and its very versatile to work with.

Seventh product would be  Eyeliner for drugstore I have the CoverGirl liquiline blast liner in black, I love this thing so much I use it every single day and it stays in. I don’t even have a high end because I tried the Urban Decay 24/7 and believe me it was not as good as this, at least for me.

Eight product would be Mascara for drugstore I have the Cover Girl Lash Blast in very black; I have this issue with my eyelashes that they never stay curled, never!! So this was the first mascara that left them pretty curled, the only downside is that is a pain in the ass to take it off so you need a very good makeup remover if you are using this. For high end I have the Benefit’s they’re Real mascara I like this one because it separates my lashes very well and does give my eyes the look that I really have lashes jaja..

Ninth product is Blush/Bronzer for drugstore hands down the ELF Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder this is three dollars and you get this wonderful product many times compared to the NARS Laguna/Orgasm Duo (I only have tried the orgasm blush and I love the ELF even more). For high end I don’t have a bronzer because I love my elf so much but for blush I have the NARS Exhibit A this color might be scary at first sight, but it is this matte color which will give you a very nice end specially if you are taking pictures (you don’t want to be all glow).

Tenth product is Nail Polish for drugstore I love the Rimmel polishes my favorite one has to be Steel Grey its this kind of lavender color but it’s very appropriate for office. For high end well kind of for me it’s the Essie nail polish in Sand Tropez I love this color because is nude and it gives my nails a very polished appearance and its great for office as well, I have received a lot of compliments when I used these colors.

And the last product is Favorite Hand Cream for drugstore I love the Johnson’s body care melt away stress Lavender and Chamomile Lotion I always buy the small one to keep in my purse it smells delicious and makes my hands very soft. And for high end I discovered the AHAVA  Intensive Nourishing Hand Cream Love it the scent is very discrete and it is 100% moisturizer.

So this ends up my list of favorite products, it might sound like cheating because I said 11 and I ended up mentioning like 21 products but I wanted to share the two sides of my perspective. Something I discovered this year playing with this products is that even if I like them and enjoy playing with them, you don’t have to spend a lot of money to look beautiful, it’s your inner beauty the one who reflects to others; you might spend thousands of dollars in makeup but still not be a good person, so inner beauty is what matters in the end. My hubby tells me all the time, he loves me without makeup even more!!

Oh and something else before I forget….HAPPY NEW YEAR!! and may all your Goals come true this 2012 ^_^.

Let me know your thoughts...

