Organized Journal

Beauty is Not Only a Job, it's an Adventure

Facial Anyone?

Leave a comment

Hello Hello, with summer coming right around the corner I have been more consistent with my skincare routine, thus including doing a pampering facial at least once a week. No matter what happens I have to do it or else my skin will suffer the consequences and will look dull.

So here I am showing you the basic steps that I take in order to complete a facial in my own home. You don’t need to spend a lot of money if you don’t want to, but still I do think that following these steps will help you get a brighter complexion. Also, I don’t think you need to go running to your department store and buy the entire line of a particular brand, I mean I do mix my products, and it has worked well for me.

Remove all your makeup. Use any product you have to complete this step. I use makeup remover wipes and a biphasic makeup remover for when I use waterproof mascara. You can also use Olive Oil to remove your makeup that’s what my sister does even though she has oily skin it doesn’t affect her at all.

Wash your face. I do this to remove any excess that might have stayed in my face, I normally use a Neutrogena or Clean & Clear face wash, so anything that you have will work in this step.

Get rid of blackheads in your nose. You can omit this step if you don’t have any or if you don’t have a lot of time. I would normally do this once a month. I buy the Biore nose strips you buy in the drugstore and let them sit for a couple of minutes.

Use a toner/astringent. I have two different products for this; there are times when I have pimples so for this I use my Neutrogena astringent which contains salicylic acid. For the days when my face is normal I use a Nivea toner for normal to oily skin. This step allows me to remove any other trace of makeup that might have been left after the steps 1 and 2.

Exfoliate. I have a product from Mary Kay that is a microdermabrasion but you can use any other exfoliator you have, there are some from St. Ives that good, smell delightful and are very inexpensive I have the one in “peach”. You can also make your own if you have time to do it by mixing sugar, honey and some drops of lemon.

Apply a mask. Use your favorite mask, I have one from 10.0.6 Mud mask I love it because it has this citrusy smell and leaves my skin soft and fresh. You can also use the Queen Helene Mint julep’s mask or any other mask you have around.

Moisturize. Ok you might think that is too much, but at night I moisturize like crazy, first I use a serum that comes with my microdermabrasion kit, then I use a night complex from Mary Kay which has a gel consistency this is part of their time wise line, and in the end I use their moisturizer. But you can use any other moisturizer that you use at night.

And that’s it. I do think that having this routine consistently for a month will be reflected in your skin, I’ve been doing this since February and now I don’t forget about doing it because my skin simply asks for it. So I religiously follow my Facial Wednesdays every week.

I hope this was helpful for you I would love to know which products you use for your skincare.

xoxo

Let me know your thoughts...

