Organized Journal

Beauty is Not Only a Job, it's an Adventure

My Sample Opinion: Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer

Leave a comment

My skin is combination and tends to get really oily during the summer; the truth is that I haven’t found a primer that solves my shininess and leaves my skin matte for most part of the day. On the other half, my sister has acne prone oily skin (more than me) and she really struggles a LOT over the summer.

So as I am a girl who loves testing products, wants a nice primer and wants to help her sister, we kind of agree that I would help her find the perfect primer for her skin. We will be testing different samples of any primer we can get and hopefully in the end find the perfect for her (and for me).

And to make it more fun, I will be documenting our results for anyone who as us is in the search for the perfect primer. Anyways, our first product would be the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer (Retails $52.00 at Sephora). I asked for this sample last time I went to Sephora because I read good things about it, and no way I was paying that without being sure.

So Hourglass claims this is: “A mineral-based, water-resistant primer with SPF 15 that neutralizes the skin, minimizes shine, and creates a smooth, uniform canvas for flawless makeup application This clean, satin-finish formula helps keep makeup looking fresh and prevents fading. Veil Mineral Primer also absorbs excess oils and minimizes the appearance of pores by evenly distributing light to help hide and soften skin imperfections and fine lines. It does not contain parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, synthetic dyes, this water-resistant primer is also 100% free of fragrance, oil, and gluten”

My Opinion:

Ok so at first glance product is white but it blends and gives a clear finish. When applied it leaves your skin looking really smooth, I must say I’ve never felt this even with benefit’s porefessional. After applying foundation my face felt smooth and the appearance of my face looked completely different, healthy and glowy but very soft. (I used my Makeup Forever foundation and this primer made it look even better than with the makeup forever primer itself, I thought this would be a nice combo).

At noon which is normally the time of the day where I touchup my makeup I only had oiliness at my nose. But my makeup remained intact. I think this is a nice product, the only downside and I think it’s a pain is that the price is very high. I would think on buying it if I was rich..jajaja.. But still, I do want something that does more than that; I mean my nose looked shinny and I don’t like that.

My Sister’s Opinion:

Product left my skin soft at first applying it. I have very oily skin and I shine like a bulb. Sadly the product didn’t work that well for me as the day went by; I started feeling oily very soon, and by lunch time my forehead was shinny. I am a teacher so I walk constantly through the student desktop’s and have little time for being seated.

We both concluded that the product does leave a nice finish when you apply it at first. But if you have very oily skin or combination I would stay away of buying this, maybe for normal skin girls this product will be amazing. We both agree that the price is kind of high, and it did not meet our needs, but we will keep in the search of a good primer.

So I hope this review has helped you, until next time,

xoxo

Let me know your thoughts...

