Organized Journal

Beauty is Not Only a Job, it's an Adventure

Tips for Purchasing Makeup

Leave a comment

Today I have a question for all of you, how do you purchase your own makeup? The other day I was thinking the same. With a massive amount of products and a wide variety of brands out there in the market, there are times when I say to myself, what should I get? Now, I cannot imagine what it would be if I didn’t have a bit of knowledge about makeup. It’s hard to know what to buy and how much to spend if you haven’t tested something before or if you don’t have experience.

I have women at work coming to me and asking me how to buy makeup, because they say they just go to the store and get so overwhelmed with everything they see, that they sometimes end up getting things they just don’t know how to use or end up hating them.

Well at first I think it was the same for me, when I started getting into makeup it was all about trial and error, until finding the correct product. Now this may sound expensive, and sometimes it was. But it was my first way of finding correct shades, products, textures etc. Now, I am not saying to go to your nearest target/drugstore and start grabbing all the makeup you can. I will be giving you some tips that helped me after mastering these steps.

  1. First of all, for any product you buy do your homework and research. Let’s say you need a new foundation, and you have an idea of what you want but are not sure if it’s suitable for your skin. If it’s a high end foundation, I would first go and search reviews over the internet. If I am convinced of it and want to get it I would go to the counter or Sephora and ask for a sample. I would not go directly to buy the whole bottle because it might cost more than $30.00 USD. Now if it is a drugstore brand, please do not go and open the bottle at the store and sample it there. I have seen several girls do that and I just feel ashamed for them; besides product can get contaminated. Again, research reviews over the internet, what I like about reviews is that people often give they honest opinion and would give you more information than what the brand gives.

  2. Rely on your friends thoughts, if you have a friend and love the products she uses, ask her, chances are she will let you try the product (following hygienic rules..always) and you can see if you like the product that much to purchase it.

  3. Use coupons or wait for sales, ok this might not apply for all brands, I have never seen discount coupons for MAC makeup (if you have please let me know), but drugstores do, nowadays I have found that most drugstore makeup can compete with several high end brands and they offer a wide collection of products.

  4. If you already found your favorite mascara, foundation, etc. stop your search, I have found that in the search of better mascara I have failed and always get back to my favorite one. There’s no need to spend more money and accumulate more products if you have found the right one. I mean it’s like searching for a husband, when you find the one you won’t go out and look for a better one right?

  5. And last, trust your instincts, if you see something you want to try and don’t know how to use, but you want it, watch vids first of people trying it out, odds are you might end up hating the product and saving couple of bucks or finding a treasure that will become in a Holy Grail product.

And that’s it for me, what do you do to find the right makeup or when you go makeup hunt?

xoxo

Let me know your thoughts...

