Organized Journal

Beauty is Not Only a Job, it's an Adventure

My Foundation Routine

12 Comments

Today I want to share with you my foundation routine. I think that for a good skin care is necessary to have an established skincare regimen. And for applying your makeup goes the same; god knows that every time I change something in my routine I break out. And that my routines do change from season to season.

So what have I’ve been doing lately?

  1. Wash my face. This step is very important even if you showered the night before. So when I have breakouts I use the Purpose Soap, but when I don’t I use the Mario Badescu Enzyme Gel Cleanser.

  2. Apply Toner. Day and Night. For that I use the Mario Badescu Special Cucumber Lotion I love this because it makes my skin feel fresh and it does not sting.

  3. Moisturize. Lately I’ve been using this moisturizer from La Roche Posay named Effaclar K, this thing is great for my skin because it’s not greasy at all and yet is moisturizing. I use this day and night as well.

  4. Eye Cream. This has been a new step for me, I usually didn’t apply eye cream but have been reading articles where say that this is a very important step. I’ve been using a sample from Benefit.

  5. SPF. Only in the mornings. This is very important for me and I cannot skip this step. Right now I am using a sample from Philosophy called Hope Oil-Free SPF.

  6. Face Primer. Only for the hot days, I have noticed that for colder days my moisturizer has been enough.

  7. Foundation. I’ve been using the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua, now I think that this foundation is somehow sheer, but it also gives me a more natural appearance. If I am getting pictures taken I use the Makeup Forever HD ( I love this foundation).

  8. Concealer. There are people who conceal first, but if I try to do that I will end up with a cakey face, so concealer after foundation. I use Estee Lauder Double Wear concealer.

  9. Powder. Set everything if weather is real hot, if not I can skip this step. I use the Maybelline Stay Matte pressed powder.

  10. Set Makeup. I would normally use Mario Badescu Rosewater Spray.

I would like to know your foundation routines,

Until Next Time

xoxo

12 thoughts on “My Foundation Routine

  1. never used any of these products! What are your favorites? x

    • My favorites ^_^
      Purpose soap is real good if you have pimples and acne I would compare it a bit with the Cetaphil one, but worked better for me, this is drugstore and is inexpensive. This works for sensitive skin.
      Mario Badescu Products are real good, I received a couple of samples some time ago and I was sold, what I like of them is that bottles have good quantity of product and they are not that expensive. You would be paying a couple of dollars more than Neutrogena products but they are amazing.
      La Roche Posay is a very expensive brand I won’t deny it, but this moisturizer has worked for me and a little goes a long way.
      Makeup Forever foundation is the bomb I love it, better than the Chanel one, and Chanel is a bit more expensive.
      Maybelline Powder is my favorite, inexpensive and works great, specially over the summer.

      Hope this helps!! Thanks for your comment 🙂

  2. Ive wanted to try chanel foundations FOREVER. but never got round it it! Hopefully one day….

  3. I’ve never been able to use toner very well. No matter what I try, my skin always ends up breaking out. Have you ever had that trouble with a toner?

    • Thanks for your comment! It would really depend on the skin type that you have, I used to use one from Neutrogena that has Salicylic Acid in it, but would not work for me, it irritated my nose. With the Mario Badescu one I haven’t had any problems, it cleans my skin and is very gentle on me (I am combination skin, and my nose gets real oily) this product is designed for my skin type. Which skin type do you have?

      • My skin is generally dry, though there are some oily patches. Maybe I could just use toner in specific spots only?

      • Do your oily patches are normally in your T-Zone? (Forehead, Nose & Chin), This might mean that you have combination skin, in this case yes, you would have to use toner only on specific areas. The thing would be to get stuff for the oily zone and moisturizers for the Dry zone, for instance if you use the same moisturizer for all your face and this is designed for dry skin that would explain why you are breaking out.

      • Gotcha — yes, I probably need to be a bit more selective about where I use each product. I’ll work on it! Thanks for the tip!

      • You’re welcome, yeah it takes time, but it’s all about reading the labels and watching reviews… ^_’

Let me know your thoughts...

