Organized Journal

Beauty is Not Only a Job, it's an Adventure

Naked 1 and 2 had a baby

2 Comments

Yep you heard that well, for Christmas my mom and one of my sisters got together and ordered something for me at Sephora, the shipment did not arrive on time for Christmas, but a couple of days later they had a Sephora box for me…I was really excited about this one, but I did not want to write this post until I used it in order to give you my opinion. So as the title says Naked 1 and Naked 2 decided to have a baby named Naked Basics.

I am starting to think that Urban Decay is really getting used to get out their palettes for the Christmassy season for some purpose…but whatever that purpose is, it works, because I got it as a present. And they are determined to release all Naked things as possible (‘cause I just discovered they released a blush-highlight-bronzer and nail polishes). Don’t get me wrong I love Urban Decay products and I really love my Naked 1 and am in the process of loving Naked 2 (shh don’t tell her)…

So my first impressions were, seeing this sleek and compact box which is almost half the size of the Naked 1 and 2 palettes.

Then when I opened it I said OU, it’s smaller, which I think is good because you can fit it in a small makeup bag and travel with it every place.

The palette itself is pretty, the compact is a bit rubbery in a nice metallic pinky-brown color, it comes with six eye shadows, each one is .05 Oz which is the same size as the Naked 1 and 2 shades. The “hype” of this palette is the matte shadows.

The colors are (as Sephora describes) Venus (soft, off-white demi-matte), Foxy (very light yellow/white matte), Walk of Shame (very light nude matte), Naked 2 (taupe matte), Faint (warm, dusty brown matte) and Crave (deepest, darkest brown/black matte).

It also comes with a mirror the size of the palette which really helps you if you are on the run.

Ok when using this palette I must say it is OK, I mean for creating very neutral matte looks, specially pinup looks this palette is good. Shades are nice and all, but if I try comparing it to my Lorac Pro Palette I think I would prefer Lorac. I am only saying this because for some reason Lorac shades seem to be more pigmented when I use them. I am not being ungrateful or anything of my present because I do like it and I do think I will give this a lot of use, especially when I travel, but if you can choose that’s my opinion.

Blendability of the shadows themselves is good like all Urban Decay shadows I have tried.

Another thing, if you have let’s say the Coastal Scents 28 neutral palette, I heard that you can get the dupes for these colors right from it. I haven’t tried it yet, but I am thinking it would be fun to experiment to do.

Palette is $27.00 USD which is not that expensive, and a good option if you don’t own any matte shadows and want to include that in your collection.

Until Next Time,

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Naked 1 and 2 had a baby

  1. Im excited about this palette, but im still not sure if I should buy it or not. Like you mentioned, some of the colours are dupe-able. Nice review! 🙂

Let me know your thoughts...

