Organized Journal

Beauty is Not Only a Job, it's an Adventure

It’s Self Tanner Time!!

Leave a comment

In no way I am a fair skin lady (ok I’m mid-tone), and when spring sun starts shinning I tend to get tanned very easily. But my problem is that if I don’t use sunblock or am careful I will get an uneven tan.

This takes me back to a wedding I was invited to 2 years ago. I was taking care of my skin because I knew I would get that evil tan if I didn’t, anyways, a weekend before the event I went with my hub to a flea market, exposed to the sun in freaking May, I did have a cardigan on and was opposed to take it off, but in the way to the car, let’s say 20 minutes of walking I couldn’t handle it and took it off. The result, well as I was wearing a T-shirt I had a T-shirt tan and my dress for the wedding was sleeveless…OMFG. I was screwed.

However this year will be different, I mean I don’t have any wedding coming up, but who knows; so today I want to talk about Sunless Tanning. While cleaning my makeup drawers I found some tanning samples; because to be honest I don’t see tanning as a necessity in my life. However I want to give them a try and tell you my thoughts. So take this as a first impressions post.

Warning, in no way am I a professional tanning person so I have no idea how to use these products or what am I doing, I am adding stuff I found over the internet in how to use them so it will be my guide, so wish me luck.

Kate Somerville “Somerville 360” Tanning Towelettes. These are paraben-free they seem to be hydrating and will give you an even application, with a natural looking glow within 2 to 4 hours of applied.

How to use it:

  • Unfold towelette and apply to dry, clean skin in circular motion over your face and body.

  • Wash hands immediately.

  • For best results, exfoliate your body before applying.

This product is expensive, I have only one towelette (which they say it is enough for one entire application face-body) but a box with 8 will cost you $45.00 USD at Sephora. Ouch.

St Tropez Everyday Gradual Tan Moisturizer Light to Medium. Ok so it seems that this is more like the Jergens moisturizer sold at drugstores, this has Vitamin E and Aloe Vera; it says that the brand eliminated the tell-tale self-tan aroma by minimum of 70%. Sounds interesting I will have to give it a try. I also read that as this is gradual you will not see results immediately and you would have to give it 3 to 4 days.

How to use it:

  • Exfoliate before using. Don’t worry if you go over the same area twice, it’s only missed areas that’ll look uneven.

  • Wait for the lotion to be absorbed before getting dressed.

  • Use daily for a subtle golden boost to winter pale or sun tanned skin.

The price for this is $30.00 for 6.7 fluid Oz at Sephora.

Xen-Tan Dark Lotion. So I just discovered this is sold at Ulta, they say this gives you realistic instant color, so you can see your tan as you apply. It comes with Rich Nut Oils that give moisture for self-tan that lasts up to 7 days. Delicious light cherry-almond scent works for both men and women. Can be used on both face and body.

How to use it:

  • Shower using an exfoliating body scrub, do not apply moisturizers.

  • Apply the product in circular motions using gloves

  • After tanning you will develop a healthy natural looking tan in 2-3 hours, you can tan before bed if you use darker colored sheets. Or wait 15 minutes after tanning to dress. This washes out of most fabrics.

The price for this is $40.00 USD for 236ml; it comes with a pump which gives it Kudos because this is the first one I see like that. And it had great reviews but we will have to see.

Tan Towel. A quick-drying towelette that doesn’t create a mess or unpleasant odor; fair to medium skintones. Each original TanTowel Towelette is infused with a unique, clear self-tan formula to give you a quick and even application with no streaking, mess, or fuss. Easy to use with ultraquick results, it produces a uniform, natural-looking glow within two to four hours and leaves skin looking beautifully bronzed.

5 towelettes for $24.00 USD at Sephora.

Now from all the reading I did I learned:

  1. I need to shave-exfoliate before using self-tanners. So in this case I will use my Saint Yves Apricot Scrub (that thing is the bomb).

  2. I need to use disposable gloves or a mitten, as I don’t have a mitten (and I don’t plan on buying one) I will have to get me some gloves.

  3. I exercise so I am not sure if this will work great on my legs because I sweat and all that but hey that would be another great experiment.

Now I think I will start with the St Tropez everyday gradual tan, I feel that is the “safe one” right now, as it says to give it 4 days to develop I think I will finish the sample and I will be back with the results in a couple of days. I just pray so I don’t finish like tan mom.

Have you used any of this? If so do you have any advice or comment about them?

Until Next Time,

xoxo

Let me know your thoughts...

